Shambles Market is a historic and vibrant market situated in the heart of Europe’s largest single pedestrianised area.
One of the North of England’s largest open-air markets, it is open seven days a week , all year round (excluding Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day). Opening hours are 7am to 5pm (7am to 4pm between 27 December 2015 and 27 March 2016).
Home to more than 85 stalls, the Market is a one-stop shop for all your daily requirements and special purchases, including beautiful pottery, artisan breads, crafts, handbags, mobile phones, pet foods, army surplus and vintage clothing.
There’s also superb regional produce with locally-sourced fruit, vegetables, plants and flowers plus a fantastic selection of deli cheeses, fresh meat and fish from the Yorkshire coast.
But it’s not just the wide variety of choice that makes Shambles Market special – it is also the people and the place. The Market is situated between Parliament Street and the Shambles, a narrow cobbled street of 15th Century timbered buildings that has been voted the most picturesque street in Britain. And stalls are populated by a community of diverse and friendly individuals, full of knowledge and passion. Shambles Market has recently undergone an exciting refurbishment including new-look stalls and kiosks, improved weatherproofing and lighting, cleaned and repaired paving, improved mobility for wheelchair and buggy users, and a new street food area. Come explore, chat, shop, eat and soak up the history.
There has been a market in York since Viking times in the 8th to late 11th centuries.
In fact, the City of York Council holds ‘market rights’ to solely run markets within a radius of 6 2/3 miles of the Shambles Market location, granted under Charter, Act of Parliament and Common Law.
In the 12th and 13th centuries, York was home to a variety of markets, all held on different days of the week and selling an array of wares including malt, butter, hay, wool, cattle, fish and leather.
They were situated all across the city including the Shambles, Pavement, Parliament Street and the Thursday Market (now St Sampson’s Square). Since Victorian times, York has been served by one main market. This was first held in Pavement, but an Act of Parliament in 1833 granted the city clearance of an area now known as Parliament Street and the market moved there in 1837.
It was 127 years later, in 1964, when the market moved from Parliament Street to the area known as Newgate, after a compulsory purchase order cleared buildings to the rear of the Shambles.
In 1991, the market was refurbished and following the introduction of the Sunday Trading Act in 1994, the market has operated seven days of the week. In 2014, Newgate Market was renamed Shambles Market and underwent a £1.5 million refurbishment, which included improving the medieval snickets linking the market and Shambles and introducing improved drainage, all-weather refurbished stalls and high-grade lighting.